blessed

Blessed be Your name in the land that is plentiful
Where Your streams of abundance flow
Blessed be Your name

And blessed be Your name when I’m found in the desert place
Though I walk through the wilderness
Blessed be Your name

Every blessing You pour out I’ll
turn back to praise
And when the darkness closes in,
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

Blessed be Your name when the sun’s shining down on me
When the world’s “all as it should be”
Blessed be Your name
And blessed be Your name on the road marked with suffering
Though there’s pain in the offering
Blessed be Your name

You give and take away
You give and take away
My heart will choose to say
Lord, blessed be Your name

We sang this in church this morning, and I remember the first time I heard it at a retriet years ago, I loved it. Not because I am this way, but because I want to be this way. I want to be the person that when evreything is going great I give God the credit for all those blessings in my life and not just enjoy it and take it for granted. And I also want to be able to praise God when my circumstances might otherwise bring me down. I can’t say that I always do this. Or even do this very much at all.

I have realized lately as I watch my daughter and wonder where she gets her ability to focus on whatever drama is in her life. From me. I hate admitting it. Cause I honestly don’t want to be that person. But I have found myself “needing” to spill all the unfortunate circumstances in my life when in a conversation.

This is partly because I love story telling and being in the center of a conversations. But it is also because I mysl\elf am focusing on what’s wrong and not what’s right. When in reality I know God will provide for me. I have seen him do it over and over again in my life.

So while this area of blessing God and his wonderful name in every seasoon, and circumstance in my life is under construction, I challenge you to call me on it if I am not being the women I want to be. Don’t worry I will not get mad at you:)

May I dwell on the lovely things in my life…

One thought on “blessed

Leave a Reply

