A tribute to my mother

In less than a week my mom is going to turn 51. Looking back on half of those years, I personally know how fast they must have flown by. I feel like my three years of being a mother have felt like seconds sometimes. Maybe the first 6 years couldn’t have gone by fast enough at moments, being a single mother. Then finding someone special to share her life and her child with life was less stressful, and finally she was able to spend that time, not working three jobs just to support me, but raising me herself. Making my lunches, doing my hair, taking me to school, going on my field trips. As I got older going to all my sports events. Investing in me. My friends always loved to talk to her, she was open and laid back, very easy to talk to, something not all parents take the time to do. I appreciated that she was a good listener and always made me feel like she was on my side. Even if she didn’t agree with my thoughts or feelings she validated them, she showed she remembered what it was like to be in my stage. When I get those opportunities in the future I want to learn from her example.

God has given my mom such creativity! The things she makes and creates never fail to amaze me. And she is so generous with that gift, always making things for others. Another example of her generosity is giving away things she doesn’t need or has more than enough of. A little over 3 years ago when i worked at the family center she asked me if I know of a woman that needed plates. She had a whole matching set of dinnerware that needed a good home. And when I had a clothes drive give away at the center she had the opportunity to give it to my Muslim friend. She had some plates but they were all cheap mismatched plates, nothing to be proud of when serving guests. My friend was so overwhelmed and happy to receive this hand delivered gift, she hugged my mom repeatedly. Till this day she asks me how my mom is doing. It is a running joke that we can never leave my mom and dads house without a box or bag or both of stuff she is sending home iwth us, NEVER. I try to send people home with things too. Recently my dad was over and it was I who sent him home with stuff, a jar of rejected pickles (rejected from my daughter) and a Huge cucumber. Well, its a start.

God has made a woman’s heart strong. Strong in the way she gives, strong in her desire and pleasure to create, strong in the fierce way she loves, strong in her intuition and confident fight for the helpless and needy. My mom is one example of this strength. Through these glimpses at her and who she was created to be, I see things about my own creator that I love so much.

Happy Birthday Mom!

One thought on “A tribute to my mother

  1. >That is really sweet of you, I’m sure she appreciated it. My dad just turned 60 which makes ME feel old. Your mom sounds like an amazing woman that only blesses anyone she comes in contact with. In a way really reminds me of mine. A beautifu tribute 🙂

Leave a Reply

