Rashes, Scrubs, and Sweets

Oatmeal Bath

We have been experimenting with lots of new recipes here.

From bath additives for baby, to scrubs, to edible recipes. Vange has had a HORRID diaper rash for about 4 days now. Heat rash is common now that life here is sweaty and humid 24/7, but this one is in the nether regions and my two favorite natural diaper remedies haven’t been working one bit, this one (smells awesome) or this one (is a creamy protective layer similar to Desitin).

 So I remembered back when A had a horrible rash and I found a recipe for an oatmeal bath that cured her right up. Put this in a sinkful of water and let  baby play for a while in it, a few times a day.

RECIPE:

1/3 – 1/2 cup ground oats (grind in a food processor, coffee grinder, or blender)

1/8 cup baking soda ( optional)

mix into bath water, skin will feel silky.

EVOO Scrub

I have been wanting to make myself a scrub, to sluff off that dead skin and have a natural moisturized feeling after my shower. I finally got around to it. This recipe is the simplest I have found and SO easy to put together. It was great! Other than the salt on my new finger cut. Ouch. I felt moisturized for so long. M thought I smelled like food, but I enjoyed the scent.

If you enjoy scrubs, make yourself one of these. It’s really good for your body to get that dead skin off  (regularly)and have a natural, non-chemical moisturizer. And it’s much easier on the wallet than buying one. Maybe this is how the starz have great looking skin…

RECIPE:
1/2 C salt ( sea salt if you have it, table salt is fine)

1/2 C EVOO ( extra virgin olive oil)

1 clean Jar

If you want a bigger batch just do equal parts.

I decided not to until it had my complete OK, as not to waste my precious EVOO.

Mini Monkey Bread (with butterscotch):

a hungry onlooker

As I have been looking around for recipes I can make here that I made there, one recipe that kept coming back was Monkey bread. My kids fell in love with it the summer of ’09 and have never forgot it. Every dessert is measured against this delicious treat. Since I haven’t been able to find brown sugar, (I have heard rumors of it being in Delhi but have yet to locate it) and I can’t get enough of a supply by hijacking the little packets on the table from Haagen- Das Store when we go (yes, I have done that), I reverted to searching for a recipe to make monkey bread without it. This is what I found:

RECIPE:

2-3 rolls biscuits (cut into 4th’s)

1/2 C sugar

2 T cinnamon

1 package butterscotch quick serve pudding mix

1/2 nuts *optional

1/2 C butter ,melted

 Grease pan. put nuts in bottom, if desired. Mix sugar, cin, & pudding. Roll dough pieces in mix.

When pan is half full, sprinkle mix and 1/2 butter on top.

Repeat and end with remaining mix and butter.

Bake at 350 till top is browned. Let stand 3 minutes and flip over on plate.

I got my MIL to bring me a bunch of the pudding mixes (since they are pretty cheap), and I found a mini bundt pan in Delhi recently. I debuted my surprise on the morning of A’s birthday along with her requested waffles. It was a mini one, which was great because that’s probably all my micro/convection could hold, and the rest of the day entailed many more sweats to come.

 

Since I get my butter in big 500 gm blocks, I am not always accurate on the butter measurements in my cooking.

Next time I will  follow those measurements to a “T”, cause it seemed a little lacking in that gooey department.

I will also add more cin/sug mixture in the pan before I go dropping my balls in.

Speaking of the dough balls, we don’t get canned biscuits here so I went in search of a recipe to make the balls from scratch.

My wonderful husband located some yeast starter for me on the other side of the city, after I sent him off with a Urdu name for it.

But after I made the cupcakes and frosting the night before I was pooped and wasn’t up to making dough from scratch,

since I am not that comfortable with dough-making anyway.

 SO, I googled if “making biscuit dough out of Pancake mix was an option” and I discovered this recipe:

RECIPE:

2 C Pancake Mix

2/3 C milk

Mix and knead.

Pinch off 1-2 in balls/ chunks.

You may need to double this recipe if not doing a mini MB.

 * I forgot to knead it but it still worked great

So I did it , and it turned out perfect.

 I liked the Monkey bread enough to keep picking at it throughout the morning, A said that she is still partial to our origional recipe ( I somewhat agree), but M and Vange didn’t have any complaints.

 I also added salted, roasted peanuts at the bottom of the pan to get that salty/ sweet thing goin. So they end up on the top when you flip it. That seemed to be Vange’s favorite part and A ‘s least favorite, which worked out a good trading system for them.

4 thoughts on “Rashes, Scrubs, and Sweets

  1. Here’s recipe for making your own brown sugar….although I am not sure you have molasses there…..I have not tried it but maybe it will help!

    Ingredients

    1 cup Granulated Sugar
    1 Tablespoon Molasses

    Preparation Instructions

    Add the molasses to the white sugar. Mix well, being sure to scrape down the sides to coat all that nasty white stuff until it’s pleasantly brown. You can do it old school and just go at it with a fork, or an electric mixer will do the job quickly.

  2. I have made my own brown sugar using a recipe like mentioned above and it does work! Hopefully you have Molasses there! 🙂 I love reading your blog Heidi. Thanks for sharing so honestly and often!!!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Malachi’s birthday of treats «

Leave a Reply

