5 new easy recipes

Recently I made this for the corn on the cob that J brought home to me. I was so excited to find that we get corn, though shortly seasonal, and planned on fixing it with Arwyn’s birthday dinner of spaghetti. She LOVES corn especially on the cob. What I discovered was that bought 2 days before the cook date, corn on the cob turns out more chewy than hard caramels. Bummer! So I got the butter on my toast the next morning when J brought me breakfast in bed,  still yummy! And I used it to make garlic bread with our leftover spaghetti.

 1. Herb Butter Recipe:

4 T butter , softened

2 T herbs, chopped (basil, cilantro, sage, thyme)

Pinch of salt

1 clove garlic, minced or chopped

 

Mix and refridgerate

This is very similar to the butter I used for my first Thanksgiving bird ever cooked, and it was sooo good, pushed under the skin garauntees to not dry out the meat.

 I made some other butter tonight. For the future yummy muffins or banana bread. Waffles maybe.

2.  Honey Bee Butter:

½ C softened butter

½ C honey

½ t cinnamon

 

Mix and store for those spreadable times. MMMmmmm…

 Usually on Sabbath we go to dinner at our local fav restaurant. Get pizza, french fries… I just discovered they have great sweat n sour and garlic chicken. We always top it off with a hot fudge sundae at the end. They are small and taste just like our “Micky D’s” treats that are only $1.  It is a rest from cooking dinner and great night time ride.

 Tonight we opted to stay home. Kid’s start back to school tomorrow, bright and early at 7:30 am, and we wanted to get them in bed early enough. So I flipped through a cookbook I brought and found the “homemade mac n cheese” recipe that I love. I figured they wouldn’t be too disappointed about the change in plans if I whipped up some of this. I change it to “3 cheese mac n cheese”, cause you just can’t get enough cheese. Ever.

3. Homemade 3 cheese Mac n Cheese

Mix in a 9×13 baking dish greased with butter:

4 C cooked elbow Macaroni

1 ¼ C shredded cheddar cheese

½ C cream cheese

½ grated parmasean cheese

S & P

Mix and pour over top:

¼ C melted butter

2 C milk

1 egg, beaten

 Bake at 375 for 40 minutes

p.s J and I have very discerning cheese tastes, so our processed version of cheddar that we get just can’t be masked over by anything in the recipe enough to enjoy it. J and I took one bite and started sneaking into the kitchen to steal the next recipe till the take out arrived. But with REAL yummy sharp cheddar, this recipe ROCKS! The kids loved it.

Good to know we aren’t creating cheese snobs-lets.

I threw this together tonight while waiting on dinner to bake, to save for tomorrow morning. I thought it would be fun to have a special something for breakfast on their first day back to school. I haven’t told them. Y’know to keep it a surprise… but since we didn’t fill up on dinner, we have taken a few “taste tests” and it definately passed. My goal is to keep at least half of it in tact for their breakfast now…

4. Coffee Cake with Cinnamon crumb topping:

Combine:

2 C flour

1 T baking powder

1 C sugar

1/2 t salt

1 t cinnamon

1/3 C  powdered milk

Stir in:

1 egg

2/3 water

Topping:

2-4 T flour ( I omitted this)

1/3 C cookie or cake crumbs

1/2 C white or brown sugar

2-4 T shortening (in my part of the world we use Ghee)

Pour batter into greased 9×13 baking pan. Sprinkle topping over batter. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.

Let me tell you, it was a new recipe day. And surpriselingly, that didn’t mean that I was in the kitchen all day. These were all fast and easy.

Lunch was UNIQUE. I made something called “Ox-eye eggs”. It’s a fun one for the kids. Again I tweaked it just to make sure they couldn’t complain and added parmesian cheese. Feed these to your kiddos for breakfast/lunch/ or dinner and they will be a hit. A second batch was demanded.

Our electricity was out during lunch time so I made it in the skillet.

5. Ox-eye eggs

For each person, place in a greased baking dish:

spinkle bottom with parm

1 slice of toast with a  hole cut in the center

in each hole put:

 1 raw egg (skillet: let toast and egg cook 2 minutes sprinkle with Parm and flip)

Add to the top of each egg:

1/4 t butter

s & p

sprinkle again with Parm

Bake at 325 for 10 min. (skillet: when egg is cooked to your desired level pull off)

The parm on the bottom got crispy and orange, YUM! I love melted and cooled parm on food.

p.s. Just for fun I spread the hole cut outs with butter and toasted them then tossed em with cinnamon and sugar. I presented them as the “old – eye ball’s”. It was great to hear Vange screaming for more old eye balls!

p.s No that isn’t my picture, cause we don’t eat bacon here…sniff ,sniff. But mine actually looked way more yummy!

Leave a Reply

