A short weekend

Weekends always feel so short here. Maybe that’s because Itwar (Sunday) is the kid’s only day off of school.

So we usually celebrate Sabbath locked in our house, to eat yummy food, rest, play, and worship.

But the resting isn’t just from traditional “work”. We rest from interaction with anyone that is “work”.

Which right now is all people except our family. (Who am I kidding, I have a 6, 4, and 2 year old?)

But somehow things go much better when you have eating, playing, dancing & singing on the menu.

So it is a much cherished day for us.

Along with our crepes, Daddy’s specialty, I made a batch of granola in the skillet.

Stovetop Granola Recipe

Combine in a saucepan on low heat:

1/2 cup oil

1/2 C honey

1 t vanilla

Add:

3-6 cups oats

desired spices (i.e cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg)

stir and coat, contine to stir till oats are golden brown

remove and spread on sheet to cool

store in airtight container

Then I made yogurt parfait’s. MMMM… definatley a repeat.

I just layered granola, yogurt, and fruit in a glass.

 

The day before I made a batch of gespatcho and that turned out better than I thought it would.

Gespatcho and garlic grilled cheese.

I have these two great recipes for Roasted carrot soup and roasted garlic soup. One I have had and LOVE, the other I have wanted to try for awhile now, but our two months of fall isn’t here yet, and trying to have soup in our wether is just insane. Although I have contemplated eating some in front of the AC unit in our bedroom…

So I made gespatcho instead. Really? what’s a better solution to a soup craving in summer than cold soup?

This was my first time having gespatcho. It was kinda like eating a bowl of non spicy salsa.

 Even similiar to Ceviche, just missing the shrimp…mmm…

A will take soup in any form. M just asked to have it heated and asked me for the thousanth time if I would make him clam chowder instead. And for the thousanth time I said” No clams in our part of India bud”. So sad. Vange as with almost anything used it as a dip, but her main course was the grilled cheese on garlic toast. Once that was gone, there was no getting it in her without a fight. Josiah who has had gespactho before, loved it, therefore making me decide I may make this again. I could always use the extra as a marinade… But really the feta, made this recipe. And now I am fresh out till our next trip to Delhi… in a month.

Gespatcho Recipe:

through in food processor in batches-

2 1/2 lbs. tomatoes, chopped rough

2 samll garlic cloves, peeled

1/2 small red onion, chopped rough

2 red bell pepper, rough chop

1 lb. cucumbers, rough chop

Transfer to a large bowl and add 1/4 C lemon juice , 1 1/2 t salt & 1/2 t pepper

Once in bowls top with feta, corn, fresh chopped cilantro and a drizzle of evoo.

The day before that I made banana bread. I am trying to switch breakfast up from being cereal most days.

I made my normal two mini loafs. One was consumed by the kids before school friday, and the other was consumed by mostly Vange

Banana Bread Recipe

combine:

1/2 C shortening or 1/3 oil

1 C sugar

1/4 C water

Add:

1-2 beaten eggs

2-3 bananas, mashed

1 t lemon juice

combine seprately and add:

2 C flour

1/2 t salt

1 t baking soda

1/4 – 1/2 t cinnamon, cloves or nutmeg

1 t vanilla

1/2- 1 C chopped nuts (optional)

piur into greased loaf or 9×9

Bake at 375 F for 45- 60 minutes

rub with butter when removed from oven.

2 thoughts on “A short weekend

Leave a Reply

