Things I love about being here…

So many nice and refreshing things about being in America. I never payed much attention to or fully appreciated until leaving it.

Getting good chocolate anywhere, everywhere.

Breathing nice clean air, even in LA.

Sitting in bumper to bumper traffic, in LA, cars remain in there lanes, no honking, all is quiet and serene.

Visiting friends and walking to parks together.

Buying anything my heart desires at ONE grocery store.

Driving to the grocery store.

Taking all 4 kids and having a good time, in the grocery store.

Beautiful trees.

Clean streets.

AWESOME beaches.

Mexican restaraunts.

Hearing any conversation around me and understanding it all without having to think about it.

Seeing LOTS of people on a daily basis that not only KNOW me but CARE about me.

Thrift stores, bargains, and GOODWILL in the OC.

Crockpot meals.

Kids screaming and playing in a yard with falling trees.

Wearing jeans, EVERDAY.

Actually being motivated to do my hair and make up cause it will show for all to see.

Central Heating.

Music in the car.

Not needing to dust and sweep everyday.

Going out at night, as a woman, with whomever I want, or nobody if I want.

Going out on dates with J. To fun places and not worrying about the kids.

Christmas music out in the world, not just my home.

Electricity all day and all night.

Taking hot showers and not freezing when I get out.

The hum of the dishwasher.

The wonderful feeling of slipping into clothes just fresh from the dryer.

Renting a movie from Redbox and it not being in a foriegn language or skipping all the way through.

Getting text love more often.

Getting more fruits and veggies.

Not having to soak them for an hour before I eat them.

Salad.

Getting real live hugs from friends and family.

I could probably go on and on. And as difficult as this last year has been I find myself having hope for the years ahead to only get better in India. True some things need to change and others need to fall into place for that to happen. But I believe it can. And when I looked at some photos tonight of  “home” the thought that came to mind was ” Wow! We are sure living an adventure!”

… and I like that.

Buying other supplies

Shopping at the lil store across the street with my helper.

IMG_0870

Homeschool moment.

IMG_0976

A neighbors doorway, I hope to go in someday. (this is the doorway I mentioned in the alley with the smiling lady.)

IMG_0988

In the lift, love those dimples.

IMG_1106

Playing music in our living room

IMG_1170

Going to visit a friend 2 stories down.

IMG_1266

A view from our Balcony, just after monsoon ends.

IMG_0987

M skateboarding in our courtyard below.

5 thoughts on “Things I love about being here…

  1. It was wonderful seeing you and the family at the Christmas Festival Bazaar. I really enjoy your blog and will try to respond more in the coming year. Happy New Year to you and your family!

    Love, Bonnie

  2. Amen! Oh man can I relate to that! Soak it in Heidi 🙂 Isn’t is a blessing to really understand what a privilege all those things are that we used to take for granted? Another thing I would add to the list is soft toilet paper & wide smooth roads…. beautiful!

Leave a Reply

