Switzerland Part 3: berries and beauties

The last day we were with our friends in Switzerland I spent some time capturing the beauty in the house and out of it. I just love these old stoves and very “Swiss” curtains
2013-08-09 19.56.56

In the reading room I found this treasure. Malachi is totally into Tintin, Asterix, and Calivin and Hobbes now. He saves his allowance to but Tintin books for himself and his friends. When I saw this vintage Tintin book in french I hollard at Malachi to come take a look. I think He would have begged for it from Uncly Antione if it hadn’t been in french.

2013-08-10 08.22.33

When I looked at things around the house it totally reminded me of IKEA, which it should 🙂2013-08-10 08.24.30

 

I had to take a pick of this beautiful picture of Marie. The last evening we were able  to sit down with Evelyn and she shared more of the story about how Marie died. One sad part was that it had just been her birthday and she was working on it so they were going to celebrate the next evening, but she dies the night before. It was an intimate tear filled conversation a that J translated to me since she was speaking in french, the language of her heart. ” I have always felt that my precious children were only loaned to me for a short time, and to make my time with them worthwhile.” This struck me so much that as I continued my journey to stop yelling I thought a great injection of perspective in my home would be to make each kid a t-shirt that said “I’m on loan”. A constant reminder walking around the house. Feel free to check if I have done it 🙂

2013-08-10 08.26.54One of the kids favorite things to do was pick the berries in the front yard. Our first night we had them on a little swiss pastry with some cream. MMMMMM. The rest of the time they just gobbled them right from the bush.

2013-08-10 08.29.04This is the beautiful view from their front yard. The last day all the rain and fog cleared up and you could see the snowy peaks ahead. Breathtaking!
2013-08-10 08.29.17And here is one more of the little chalet…

2013-08-10 08.30.47And one more of journey up the mountain in the Gondola.

2013-08-09 12.11.47Switzerland was so special. Being with brand new friends that felt like long time family, seeing green lush beauty all around and eating delicious food.

Some of our favorite food here was this great honey in the raw. It was thick and creamy and we brought some home with us and sent a jar to Grandma for her birthday. We just finished it last month. But every morning we had thick great slices of fresh bread toasted w honey. The night of Vange’s birthday dinner we had fondue. Traditionally you take a little shot of liquor made from cherries halfway thru the meal to cleanse your palette. Everyone was secretly watching for my reaction when we downed our shots. But you’d be glad to know I didn’t flinch one bit. Even though my throat was on fire…

Wine and cheese, bread and cheese, wine and bread… pretty much every meal. How can you go wrong?

The next day was a teary goodbye to our special friends.

And on to Germany.

Leave a Reply

